Ticket #27 (closed Defect: duplicate)
When overwriting existing installation, installer pops error messages about unwritable files in ArcGIS directory
|Reported by:||jjr8||Owned by:||jjr8|
|Component:||Setup & Installation||Version:||0.2|
This occurs because the ArcGIS directory is set to read only during the previously-run installation process. We probably do not want to support installing overtop an existing installation. But if we can do it with minimal work, we should.
I don't think there is a facility in distutils to detect the existing installation, or even execute code prior to it installing stuff. This could prevent us from fixing this problem so long as we want to mark files read only. Per the recommendation of ArcGIS documentation, we should leave the .tbx file read only. Also, I have seen Arc save changes to the .tbx even when you didn't want it to do so.